Skip to Main Content

Antiracism Resources: History

This is a small collection of resources about racism in Minnesota and the United States. It is focused on the experiences of African Americans and Native Americans. See our Minnesota History guide for additional resources.

Slavery & 18th Century

National Museum of African American History and Culture: Historical Foundations Of Race

Library of Congress: African Americans

Lynching

Duluth Lynchings (1920)

Duluth Lynching
Find a comprehensive guide to primary sources and context from the Minnesota Historical Society.

Legacy of Violence by John D. Bessler
Call Number: Nonfiction Books 364.134 BES
ISBN: 9780816638116
Publication Date: 2006-02-24

North Star: Stories of Minnesota's Black Pioneers
The segement: Presence of the Past recounts the Duluth lynchings.

Visit a Museum

Minnesota History Center
Located across the street from Saint Paul College, this museum is free to visit for students and employees of the College.
Hennepin History Museum
Located in downtown Minneapolis.
Minnesota African American Heritage Museum & Gallery
Historic Fort Snelling

History Museums: Digital Collections

National Archives: African American History
Library of Congress: African Americans
National Museum of African Art (Smithsonian)
MN Historical Society: African American History
African American Archival Materials (U of M)
American Indian Movement
This research guide from the Minnesota Historical Society includes primary resources.

American History, Segregation

Civil Rights Digital Library
This database is searchable by people, places and events.
National Archives: Civil Rights

African Americans in Minnesota

North Star: Stories of Minnesota's Black Pioneers

African American Archival Materials (U of M)
Minnesota Black History Project
Consists of 32 interviews recorded between 1970 and 1975.
Civil Rights Digital Library
This database is searchable by people, places and events.

North Minneapolis

School Desegregation in Minneapolis, Minnesota
This document is a staff report from the United States Commission on Civil Rights about the efforts to desegregate schools in Minneapolis in the early 1970s.

Mankato Mass Executions / Dakota War of 1862

US Dakota War of 1862
usdakotawar.org is a substantial collection of resources related to the war.
U.S.-Dakota War of 1862
Find a comprehensive digitized collection of artifacts and other primary sources.
U.S.-Dakota War of 1862 Oral History Project
This contains 52 interviews related to the U.S. -Dakota War.
Dakota–U.S. War of 1862 Symposium | 2 Gwen Westerman
A lecture from Gwen Westerman

Rondo

Rondo Oral History Project
A Minnesota Voices Project. Includes 34 interviews.

Remembering Rondo: A History Harvest
A project of Macalester University

Find Books in the SPC Library

Voices of Rondo by Kate Cavett
Call Number: Nonfiction Books 977.658105 VOI
ISBN: 0929636481
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
The Days of Rondo by Evelyn Fairbanks
Call Number: Nonfiction Books 977.658105 FAI
ISBN: 0873512561
Publication Date: 1990-03-15
Voices of Rondo by Kate Cavett (As told to)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781517903435
Publication Date: 2017-07-04

Tulsa Massacre of 1921

Last Updated: Mar 31, 2022 2:40 PM
URL: https://saintpaul.libguides.com/antiracism
Print Page

Subjects: General Interest, Humanities, Social Sciences

Tags: antiracism, literature, race