Skip to Main Content

Statistics: Natural Disasters

Government Research & Data

Volcanic Eruptions

Photo credit: Bernal Sabrio. Shared via Flickr under CC license.

Smithsonian Institute: Volcanoes of the World
" "Volcanoes of the World" is a database describing the physical characteristics of Holocene volcanoes and their eruptions"
USGS: Eruptions Archive
Find eruption reports from U.S. observatories.

Hurricanes

National Weather Service: Notable Surge Events
National Hurricane Center
The NHC is a division of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Tsunamis

NOAA: Center for Tsunami Research
Find a list of tsunamis from around the world dating back to 1964.
National Geophysical Data Center / World Data Service: Global Historic Tsunami Database
Find data on events dating back as far as 2000 B.C. Many recent events have extensive information including death tolls.

Fire Events

Australian Rural Fire Service: Research
Find detailed research on the Australian bush fires of 2013 and 2017.
National Interagency Fire Center (USA)
Find basic information about wild fire events dating back to 1929.

Severe Weather Events

Tornados

USGS: Storm Events Database
Find information about major storms dating back to 1950. Geography is limited to the United States and its territories.

Drought Events

National Integrated Drought Information System (USA)
National Integrated Drought Information System: Impacts
Find impact reports specific to droughts in the United States.

Flood Events

Earthquakes

USGS: Earthquake Lists, Maps, and Statistics
Earthquakes are searchable by region, magnitude, and date.
USGS: Significant Earthquakes Archive
The archive dates from 1900 to present.
USGS: Earthquake Catalog
Search for earthquakes by region, magnitude, or date.
Bristish Geological Survey: Earthquake Database
Find Earthquake information from around the British Isles.