Research Guides: ENGL 1711 Crispin: Peer-reviewed

Multi-disciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All purpose database covering most academic topics. Includes peer-reviewed and news articles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
All-purpose database of peer-reviewed and news articles on topics in STEM and the Humanities.
MegaFile This link opens in a new window
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 12,000 total publications. MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases.

Women's Studies and Diversity Studies Databases

Contemporary Womens Issues This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.

STEM Article Databases

PLOS This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed articles in medicine and life sciences.
open access
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 1.6 million science-oriented articles and books from the Gale collection of databases.
GREENR: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources This link opens in a new window
GREENR focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Find news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development.
Gale Onefile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Studies & Policy Collection is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
Science Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Science Reference eBook Collection is offered as a companion to the Science Reference Center database, containing 235 reference books from top educational publishers and university presses.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science In Context features authoritative information covering all major science topics. This revolutionary, curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers. Science In Context integrates content from comprehensive Gale reference sets (Encyclopedia of Science, Chemical Elements, Science in Dispute, and Macmillan Science Library), as well as topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from noted publications, images and videos, detailed experiments from Experiment Central, biographies, and dictionaries.
Royal Society journals This link opens in a new window
The Society’s fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity through its journals.

Pub Chem
Pub Chem is a division of the National Institutes of Health. Find articles, data sets and other information about chemicals.
arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,851,142 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

Defining Peer-review

In a research context, peer-review refers to the editorial process involved in scholarly journal publishing. The peers are other experts in the same field of study as the submitted paper. The peer-reviewers scrutinize the scholarly work written about in the paper. This helps ensure that the science or scholarly research is high quality.