Research Guides: ENGL 1711 Bonnett: Articles

Popular versus Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Articles

Popular Articles	Peer Reviewed Articles
Authors: Mostly journalists, many with specialized reporting areas Article Length: Usually 2-3 pages Citations/ References: Refer to sources in the sentences only without giving formatted citations. Audience: General audience	Authors: Academics and researchers (professors and scientists) Article Length: Usually 10 – 20 pages Citations/References: Refer to sources with in-text citations and bibliographies. Tend to have long bibliographies. Audience: researchers and students in the academic area

Analyzing Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Sources
This video describes the differences among trade journals, magazines, and scholarly journals.

EAPP 0900 Articles Guide
This handout includes information on peer-review and popular resources, keyword development, and a glossary of research terms.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Excellent source for topic overviews of social issues, technology, and education.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints has reference, news, and peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of current events and social issues. The browsing feature makes this an excellent source to find a topic.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The database covers over 400 common research topics.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
Find articles and reference materials for history, literature, science, social studies, and current events.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, International periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
All purpose database covering most academic topics. Includes peer-reviewed and news articles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
All-purpose database of peer-reviewed and news articles on topics in STEM and the Humanities.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find general reference, business, and current event research.
MegaFile This link opens in a new window
EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 12,000 total publications. MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases.

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search multiple newspapers, magazines, and trade journals.
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks. Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Access your library account in order to:

Access library accounts, databases, and electronic resources from off campus. Log-in with your StarID and password when prompted.

Exception to off campus access: