Skip to Main Content

EAPP 0900: Memoirs & Biographies

Find popular and peer-reviewed articles.

Find a Book

Memoirs are stories people write about their own experiences. Biographies tell the story of a person's life.

Non-fiction books are about real events and people's real stories. They may include history books, memoirs, biographies, or other factual information.

Racial Inequity & Social Justice

Born a Crime by Trevor Noah
Call Number: General Collection 791.4502 NOA
ISBN: 9780399588198
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore
Call Number: General Collection 975.2604 MOO
ISBN: 9780385528207
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: General Collection 616.02774 SKL
ISBN: 9781400052172
Publication Date: 2010-02-02

Refugee & War Stories

A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah
Call Number: General Collection 966.404 BEA
ISBN: 9780374105235
Publication Date: 2007-02-13
The Other Side of the Sky by Farah Ahmedi; Tamim Ansary (As told to)
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9781416918370
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
The Girl Who Smiled Beads by Clemantine Wamariya; Elizabeth Weil
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780451495334
Publication Date: 2019-04-02

Immigrant Stories

The Song Poet by Kao Kalia Yang
Call Number: General Collection F615.H55 Y36 2016
ISBN: 9781627794947
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Enrique's Journey by Sonia Nazario
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 0812971787
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Someone Like Me by Julissa Arce
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780316481700
Publication Date: 2019-09-17

International Adoption

A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780425276198
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Finding Chika by Mitch Albom
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780062952394
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
All You Can Ever Know by Nicole Chung
Call Number: General Collection HV875.65.O7 C48 2019
ISBN: 9781936787975
Publication Date: 2018-10-02

Health & Healthcare

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: General Collection 616.02774 SKL
ISBN: 9781400052172
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman
Call Number: General Collection RA418.5.T73 F33 1997
ISBN: 9780374533403
Publication Date: 2012-04-24
My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780452295544
Publication Date: 2009-05-26
Chasing My Cure by David Fajgenbaum
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9781524799618
Publication Date: 2019-09-10

Environment & Climate Change

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba; Bryan Mealer
Call Number: General Collection 621.3121 KAM
ISBN: 9780061884986
Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Lab Girl by Hope Jahren
Call Number: General Collection QH31.J344 A3 2016
ISBN: 9781101873724
Publication Date: 2017-02-28

Complicated Family Relationships

Educated by Tara Westover (Contribution by)
Call Number: General Collection CT3262.I2 W47 2018
ISBN: 9780399590504
Publication Date: 2018-02-20

Poverty & Wage Inequity

Maid by Stephanie Land; Barbara Ehrenreich (Foreword by)
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780316505116
Publication Date: 2019-01-22

Education

Educated by Tara Westover (Contribution by)
Call Number: General Collection CT3262.I2 W47 2018
ISBN: 9780399590504
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Life Is So Good by George Dawson; Richard Glaubman
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780812984873
Publication Date: 2013-05-07

Women's Stories

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai; Christina Lamb (As told to)
Call Number: General Collection LC2330 .Y69 2013
ISBN: 0316322407
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Unbowed by Wangari Maathai
Call Number: General Collection SB63.M22 A3 2006
ISBN: 9780307263483
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
The Girl with Seven Names by Hyeonseo Lee; David John (As told to)
Call Number: General Collection 951.9305 LEE
ISBN: 9780007554836
Publication Date: 2015-07-02
Know My Name by Chanel Miller
Call Number: General Collection HV6561 .M54 2019
ISBN: 9780735223707
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Hidden Figures Young Readers' Edition by Margot Lee Shetterly
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780062662378
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced by Nujood Ali; Delphine Minoui
Call Number: General Collection HQ784.C55 A45 2010
ISBN: 9780307589675
Publication Date: 2010-03-02

Inspiring Stories of Competitive Athletes & Gamers

Proud (Young Readers Edition) by Ibtihaj Muhammad
Call Number: General Collection GV1144.2.M84 A3 2018
ISBN: 9780316477000
Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Butterfly by Yusra Mardini
Call Number: General Collection GV838.M366 M37 2018
ISBN: 9781250184405
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
The Queen of Katwe by Tim Crothers
Call Number: General Collection GV1439.M87 C76 2016
ISBN: 9781501127182
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Someone Like Me by Julissa Arce
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9780316481700
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Life in Motion by Misty Copeland
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 9781481479790
Publication Date: 2016-12-06

Bullying

Please Stop Laughing at Me... by Jodee Blanco
Call Number: General Collection BF637.B85 B57 2003
ISBN: 9781440509865
Publication Date: 2010-07-18

Living with a Disability

Available through Inter-library Loan

Strangers Assume My Girlfriend Is My Nurse by Shane Burcaw
Call Number: General Collection RC935.A8 B874 2019
ISBN: 9781626727700
Publication Date: 2019-04-30

Social Work and Activism

The Price of Stones by Twesigye Jackson Kaguri; Susan Urbanek Linville
Call Number: inter-library loan
ISBN: 0670021849
Publication Date: 2010-06-10