Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Selecting Texts: Database Links

Proxy links (Permalinks)

Proxy links allow you to share content inside subscription databases with your students and others in the campus community. When the user opens the proxy link, they will be required to sign-in with their Star ID. 

In a subscription database, the URL at the top of an article page will not work. Instead, you will either find or create a proxy link. Most databases have proxy links ready, others do not. For databases without a pre-made persistent link, a proxy can be added. 

The proxy links will start with the following: https://sptproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=

Databases and vendors with permalinks/persistent links:

Databases that require a proxy added to the URL:

Broken Links

Occasionally, items are dropped from databases. This tends to happen more with older articles and academic journals. Hence, it is good practice to check links periodically. The librarians will email faculty when they are aware of changes to database holdings (for example, if a video series is dropped from Films on Demand). 

Persistent Links in EBSCO Databases

EBSCO databases have permalinks which already include the SPC proxy and can be used without any editing. Find the permalink and copy-and-paste it directly into D2L. 

Persistent Links in OneSearch

OneSearch has permalinks which already include the SPC proxy and can be used without any editing. Permalinks in OneSearch are found on the item record page.

Persistent Links in JSTOR

In JSTOR, persistent links are called URL with Proxy. They are found on the left sidebar of article pages. 

undefined

Persistent Links in Proquest

In Proquest, you must create a persistent link by adding the SPC Library proxy to the Document URL. The proxy will prompt students to log-in with their Star ID to access resources from off campus. 

SPC Library proxy prefix:  https://sptproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=     

  1. Find the Document URL in the Details tab: 
    •  Example of Document URL: https://search-proquest-com.sptproxy.mnpals.net/docview/1928728589?accountid=40789
  2. Add the SPC proxy in front of the Document URL 
    • Example of link with proxy: https://sptproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.sptproxy.mnpals.net/docview/1928728589?accountid=40789
  3. Test your link
  4. Use this link in D2L

Persistent Links in Gale Databases

In Gale databases, look for a Share or Get Link button or icon. In some Gale databases, the URL will not show a proxy, but they will still work off campus. 

Persistent Links in Credo

Persistent links in Credo are found at the top of the page, in Page Link. These links already have a proxy attached and can be added directly to D2L. 

Persistent Links in CQ Researcher

In CQ Researcher, you must create a persistent link by adding the SPC Library prefix to the Document URL. The proxy will prompt students to log-in with their Star ID to access resources from off campus. 

SPC Library proxy prefix:  https://sptproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=     

  1. Find the Document URL at the bottom of the document
    •  Example:  https://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqresrre2019070500
  2. Add the SPC proxy in front of the Document URL 
    • Example: https://sptproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqresrre2019070500
  3. Test your link
  4. Use this link in D2L