ENGL 1711 Taylor: Suggested Databases & Resources

Excellent source for topic overviews of social issues, technology, and education.

Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, International periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency.

Opposing Viewpoints has reference, news, and peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of current events and social issues. The browsing feature makes this an excellent source to find a topic.

The database covers over 400 common research topics.

Find articles and reference materials for history, literature, science, social studies, and current events.

This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 246,700 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. All e-books are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added regularly.

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks. Newspaper Source provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Search multiple newspapers, magazines, and trade journals.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.