Skip to Main Content

Library Research: Accessing Resources

A general overview of library research.

Basics

Your SPC ID doubles as your library card. You can also borrow materials using another current photo ID or passport. To access any library database, you will need to login when promped using your StarID and password. 
To use the computers, copier, or book scanner, you’ll need to login with your StarID and password. If you’ve forgotten either your ID or password, you will need to contact IT to reset them (the library staff cannot assist with this process). 
Note: the databases AllData and Mitchell Automotive are not available off-campus.

Searching for Resources

On the library homepage, you’ll find a large search box. In this box, you’ll enter your search terms, and your results will vary depending on which of the search options you choose.
OneSearch
This is the default library search option. Selecting OneSearch means you will search the entire library catalog of books and videos, all of the library databases, and a few additional open access resources. Through OneSearch, you’ll end up with results including articles, reviews, books, ebooks, streaming video, DVD’s, and more, depending on the keywords you’ve used. After you’ve searched, you’ll use the limiters (or filters) on the left-hand side of the page to narrow your search results. When you click on a resource, you’ll see a popup record directing you to the database in which the resource is held. Some resources are available in more than one database, and clicking on any of them will take you to the resource. Some will say they are only available through Resource Sharing, which means you’ll fill out a short form and the Saint Paul College Library will retrieve it from another library for you to use. 
Books & Videos:
Selecting Books & Videos limits your search results to physical books, ebooks, and videos. You can search for materials using keywords, including author name, actor name, director name, subject, or title. Once you’ve searched, you’ll use the limiters (or filters) on the left-hand side of the results page to narrow your search results. When you click on the desired resource, you’ll see a popup record directing you to where the item is held. If it’s available online, you’ll be provided a link to the appropriate database. If it’s a physical resource (a book or DVD), you’ll see the words “Available” or “Available at,” followed by the library, the collection the resource is part of, and its call number. Any library staff member can help you locate a resource.

Research Guides
A research guide is a set of recommended resources or research tips compiled by a librarian to help with topic- or course-specific research. Often built in collaboration with a professor, a research guide can provide approved sources for specific assignments, general resources for a subject overview, links to relevant databases, or resources for more information on current events or societal movements.

Help

Have questions about databases or keywords? Need help finding a specific article or book?  Contact a librarian!
Email us:
librarians@saintpaul.edu
Call or stop by the Reference Desk:
651-350-3217
Monday -Thursday 10am – 12pm & 1pm – 5pm
Use the 24/7 online chat:
Use this link to chat with a librarian anytime.